Georgia Septic Guide
Get Service Now: (678) 792-4851

Georgia Septic Guide

Septic Permit Cost in Georgia (2026)

Sourced from the published environmental health fee schedules of GNR Health, DeKalb Public Health (effective January 1, 2024), Cobb & Douglas Public Health (effective January 1, 2020, with a new schedule effective January 1, 2027), Northwest Georgia Public Health (Paulding schedule effective December 1, 2008, re-posted December 2024), the Northeast Health District, and Fayette County Environmental Health — last checked August 2026.

Quick answer: among the Georgia counties that publish a fee schedule, a residential septic permit runs $250 to $425. But the headline permit fee is not what you pay. Some counties bundle the site evaluation into that number and some bill it separately, so the realistic cost of getting permitted ranges from $275 in Gwinnett, Newton and Paulding to about $550 in Walton. DeKalb has the lowest headline permit fee in metro Atlanta and one of the highest all-in costs — $250 on paper, $450 once the required $200 lot plan review is added.

What Georgia counties actually publish

Georgia has no statewide septic permit fee. Chapter 511-3-1 sets the rules, but each county board of health sets its own prices, and most of them do not post those prices at all. Of the twenty counties covered on this site, eight publish a fee schedule and eleven publish nothing.

Here is every published figure we can verify, with the county’s own wording for the line item. The labels are not interchangeable — that is the whole difficulty with this question, and it is why “the average Georgia septic permit costs $X” is not a real answer.

County The county’s own line item Headline fee Separate review?
DeKalb Residential installation permit $250 Yes — $200 lot plan review / site approval
Cobb Residential inspection / permit $250 Yes — $110 lot site review
Douglas Residential new permit $250 Yes — $110 lot site review
Gwinnett Residential site evaluation, permit & initial inspection $275 No — bundled
Newton Residential site evaluation, permit and initial inspection $275 No — bundled
Paulding Septic application and site visit $275 No — bundled
Fayette New residential septic permit $275 Not stated on the published page
Walton Septic tank inspection $425
$475 for five bedrooms or more
Yes — $50 location plan review, $75 site plan review

The headline fee is not the total — and it reorders the counties

Compare the counties on headline permit fee and DeKalb, Cobb and Douglas look like the cheapest places in metro Atlanta to get a septic permit, all at $250. Add the review each county requires before it will issue that permit, and the order changes:

County Headline fee Typical cost to get permitted
Gwinnett $275 $275
Newton $275 $275
Paulding $275 $275
Cobb $250 $360
Douglas $250 $360
DeKalb $250 $450
Walton $425 up to $550

Fayette is left out of this second table on purpose. It publishes a $275 permit fee but does not state whether a site evaluation is billed separately, so we cannot give it an honest all-in figure.

DeKalb goes from the cheapest county on the list to the second most expensive. Its permit is $250, the lowest published figure in metro Atlanta, but DeKalb also charges $200 for the residential lot plan review and site approval that has to happen first. Gwinnett’s $275 covers the site evaluation, the permit and the initial inspection in a single line.

One caveat, stated plainly: not every review applies to every project. A lot that already has an approved site evaluation on file will not be charged for a new one, and Walton’s location plan review and site plan review are separate line items that may not both apply. Treat the right-hand column as the realistic planning figure for a new system on raw land, not as a quote.

Get Free Quotes From Local Septic Pros

Three fields, about fifteen seconds. No cost and no obligation.

We pass your request to licensed local companies so they can quote you directly. Your details are never published or sold on.

Why Walton costs more than metro Atlanta

Walton County charges $425 where its immediate neighbors charge $250 to $275 — roughly 1.7 times the metro rate, and 1.9 times for a house with five or more bedrooms. Walton is not a remote or unusual county; it borders Newton, which charges $275.

The difference is jurisdictional. Walton runs through the Northeast Health District (District 10), not GNR and not District 4, and District 10 sets its own schedule. Neighboring Newton runs through GNR Public Health. Two adjoining counties, two health districts, two prices, and nothing about the property explains the gap.

This is the practical lesson for anyone budgeting a septic project in Georgia: your permit price is set by which health district your county belongs to, not by what your land is like or what the work involves. A figure quoted by a neighboring county tells you very little.

The eleven counties that publish nothing

District 4 Public Health covers twelve Georgia counties and publishes no septic fee schedule for any of them. Those counties are Butts, Carroll, Coweta, Fayette, Heard, Henry, Lamar, Meriwether, Pike, Spalding, Troup and Upson. Applicants are told to pay “the associated fee,” which is set at the county office.

Fayette is the single exception. It is the only District 4 county that publishes amounts — new residential $275, repair $100, existing-system evaluation $125 — and even that page carries no revision date.

We are not going to fill the gap with an estimate. There are eleven separate fee schedules behind that silence, and a figure published by Fayette tells you nothing reliable about Pike or Troup. Walton and DeKalb are both metro-adjacent counties and they differ by $175 on the headline fee alone. If you need a number for a District 4 county, the only way to get a correct one is to call that county’s environmental health office.

Two schedules are about to change, and one is eighteen years old

Three dates are worth knowing before you rely on any figure above.

Cobb and Douglas rise on January 1, 2027. Cobb & Douglas Public Health has announced a new environmental health fee schedule taking effect that day. In Douglas the published increases are steep: a new permit goes from $250 to $320, a repair from $170 to $218, a minor repair from $85 to $109, and an existing-system visual evaluation from $150 to $192. That is roughly a 28 percent increase on the new-permit line. If your project runs into next year, confirm which schedule applies to your application date.

Paulding’s schedule is dated December 1, 2008. It was re-posted in December 2024, but the effective date on it has not moved in eighteen years. It is the oldest schedule in this portfolio, and the one most worth confirming by phone before you budget against it.

Gwinnett, Newton, Walton and Fayette publish no revision date at all. The figures are the most recently published ones we can find, and we have said so rather than implying they are current.

The most expensive permit mistake in Georgia

Paulding publishes one line that is worth pulling out because it is the largest avoidable cost on any of these schedules. Building before you permit costs $450 instead of $275 — the fee is not a fine, it is simply what the county charges when the work is already done. Paulding also charges a $30 late fee per 30 days.

Most counties handle this the same way even where they do not publish the penalty as a separate line. The permit is cheap relative to the system; installing first and asking afterwards is what makes it expensive.

What a permit fee does not cover

Every figure on this page is the county’s charge for reviewing and permitting the work. None of it is the cost of the system. The EPA puts a conventional septic system at $5,000–$15,000 nationally, with engineered and alternative systems costing more, and in Georgia the soil is usually the deciding factor — Piedmont red clay percolates poorly and pushes more properties onto engineered systems than Coastal Plain sand does.

You will also need a Level III soil evaluation by a Georgia-registered Certified Soil Classifier before a new-construction permit can be issued. That is paid to the soil classifier, not to the county, and it is not included in any fee above.

Find your county

Permit prices in Georgia are set county by county, so the useful next step is your own county’s page rather than a state average.

Who Issues Your Permit in Georgia

Georgia septic permits are issued county by county, and fee-setting authority is statutory and per-county under O.C.G.A. § 31-3-4. That means there is no statewide fee, and most counties publish no fee at all. This tells you which health district you are actually dealing with, where its environmental health office is, and what it publishes.

We are an independent information resource and not a health department. Every fee below is shown with the date its schedule took effect, and where a county publishes none we say so rather than borrowing a neighboring county figure — under O.C.G.A. § 31-3-4 that figure would simply be wrong. Ring the office before you budget.

The counties with published fee schedules: Gwinnett, DeKalb, Cobb, Douglas, Newton, Paulding, Walton and Fayette.

If your county is in District 4 — Butts, Carroll, Coweta, Heard, Henry, Lamar, Meriwether, Pike, Spalding, Troup or Upson — there is no published fee, and that page has the phone numbers you will need.

For what the system itself costs rather than the permit, see septic installation cost in Georgia.

Get Service Now: (678) 792-4851

Need Help With New Installation?

Tell us what’s going on and we’ll connect you with a licensed Georgia provider. Free, and no obligation.

Independent — not affiliated with the Georgia Department of Public Health or any county health department, and not a septic contractor.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a septic permit cost in Georgia?

Among the Georgia counties that publish a fee schedule, a residential septic permit runs $250 to $425. Gwinnett, Newton and Paulding charge $275 with the site evaluation bundled in. DeKalb, Cobb and Douglas charge $250 plus a separate lot review of $110 to $200, which makes DeKalb's real cost $450. Walton charges $425. Most Georgia counties publish no fee at all.

Which Georgia county has the most expensive septic permit?

Walton County, at $425, or $475 for a house with five or more bedrooms. That is roughly 1.7 times what its metro Atlanta neighbors charge. Walton permits through the Northeast Health District, which sets its own schedule, while neighboring Newton permits through GNR Public Health at $275.

Why can't you give me the permit fee for my county?

District 4 Public Health covers twelve Georgia counties and publishes no septic fee schedule for any of them except Fayette. Applicants are told to pay the associated fee, set at the county office. There are eleven separate schedules behind that silence, and counties in this state differ by as much as $175 on the headline fee, so a figure from one county tells you nothing reliable about another. Call your county environmental health office.

Is the permit fee the whole cost of a new septic system?

No. Every fee on this page is the county's charge for reviewing and permitting the work, not the cost of the system. The EPA puts a conventional septic system at $5,000 to $15,000 nationally, with engineered and alternative systems costing more. You will also pay a Georgia-registered Certified Soil Classifier separately for the Level III soil evaluation required before a new-construction permit is issued.

Are Georgia septic permit fees going up?

In Cobb and Douglas, yes. Cobb & Douglas Public Health has announced a new environmental health fee schedule effective January 1, 2027. In Douglas the published increases are steep: a new permit rises from $250 to $320 and a repair from $170 to $218. Paulding's schedule, by contrast, is still dated December 1, 2008.

Georgia

Need a septic professional?

We’ll connect you with a licensed local provider. No cost to you.

(678) 792-4851 Get a Free Quote

Independent — not affiliated with the Georgia Department of Public Health or any county health department, and not a septic contractor.